Message in a Bottle :: SBTD blog hop 2017

Welcome to the October edition of the Stampers by the Dozen blog hop. We are a group of Stampin Up demonstrators from around the world who get together monthly to share inspiration with you from our fabulous products.

This month the theme is masculine!. Ekk!

I have struggled with this theme as I don’t make many cards for males, big or small!.

After panicking for a while I finally realised I had a couple of stamp sets I could use. I went for something for young boys and a card for the crush in your life!.

first up, the youngsters!

Using the Message in a Bottle set from the Annual Catalog (143707) I made a 6 x 6 inch framed piece for a bedroom or playroom. I used Pacific Point ink (126951 ) and card stock (116202 ), Lemon Lime Twist ink (144086 ) and card stock ( 144250), Whisper White card stock (106549 ), Smokey Slate ink (131179 ) for the whale, and Chocolate Chip ink (126979 ) for the ship. i cut 4  2.5 inch squares for the stamping, then 4 2.75 inch lemon lime twist layers. The white layer is a 6 x 6 square and the pacific point layer is 6.25 inch square. This was then place in a 9 x 9 frame.

Next I made a card for vehicle lovers

I had initially thought I could get away with this DSP as fire works, but now I’m second guessing myself. I’ve decided to include it as it may provide inspiration even if I’m no longer happy with it!.

I used stamps from the In the City hostess stamp set along with DSP from Whole lot of Lovely (144110) and some washi from the Pick a Pattern selection (144166). The card has a very thin border of black cardstock (121688) on a base of Very Vanilla (106550).

Finally for that crush in your life –

I returned to the Message in a Bottle stamp set and stamped the ship in a bottle on the largest square the stitched shapes (145372) dies could make . I used Pacific Point as the card base and ink for the bottle. This time I used Pool Party ink (126982) for the water in the bottle and Early Espresso ink (126974) for the ship. I used the heart from the set to stamp tone on tone hearts on the card base.

I reckon I got there in the end!!.

Click next to go and see what Karie has done this month

Rachel Pine – me

Karie Beglau

Judi Anderson

Susan Simpson

Tricia Butts

Lyndsay LaRae Carara 

Courtney Heuston

Tashana Lundy 

Carly Middleton

Sharleen Luciano

Vicki Thompson

Anastasia Radloff

8 thoughts on “Message in a Bottle :: SBTD blog hop 2017

  1. Pingback: Masculine Makes – SBTD Hop 10/2017

  2. Pingback: Masculine Cards SBTD Hop October 2017 – cardsbycarly

  3. Pingback: Country Livin' makes a great masculine themed card, SBTD October Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

